5 Must-Read Novels for Fans of Longmire

Walt Longmire is a badass. He does his detective work the old-fashioned way, and there’s something admirable about that. If you like the small-town setting, thrilling investigations, and perplexing mysteries in Longmire, then you’ll enjoy our list of top 5 novels for Longmire fans.

Ghost Medicine by Aimée Thurlo and David Thurlo

Navajo Police Special Investigator Ella Clah searches for the murderer of her ex and former colleague, Harry Ute. Found dead in a remote area of the Rez, Harry seems to have discovered a group of artifact smugglers, which may have gotten him killed. Now, Ella has to find answers, even when the locals on the reservation are too scared of the Navajo witches to tell Ella anything. Like Longmire, this novel deals with the same difficult dynamic between Rez and county police. The jurisdictional issues, incorporation of Native American beliefs, and captivating murder investigation reminded us a lot of the show, making Ghost Medicine a great pick for Longmire fans.

Strong to the Bone by Jon Land

The award-winning Caitlin Strong Novels are always captivating and the latest installment, Strong to the Bone, lived up to our expectations. Strong is a Texas Ranger who has taken on her father’s old cases. In this novel, she pursues the killer in a triple murder case inside a Nazi POW camp in 1944. Strong’s investigation leads to a grim discovery that Nazism is definitely not over. Strong to the Bone has the same southern vibe as Longmire, but tackles a more political and widespread movement, the likes of which Longmire only occasionally touches on. And if you like this book as much as we did, there are eight other volumes for you to enjoy!

Benefit of the Doubt by Neal Griffin

In Longmire, the introduction of the casino means more big-city crimes for the small-town Absaroka police. Thriller novel Benefit of the Doubt also explores this evolution of crime — and also the secrets hidden in local police departments. Former metropolitan cop Ben Sawyer is now a detective in a tiny Wisconsin town, where the higher-up cops seem to be corrupt. Soon, Ben is fired and his wife is accused of murder… he poked his head where it didn’t belong. Longmire meets Blue Bloods in this thriller mystery.

The Dread Line by Bruce DeSilva

Bruce DeSilva’s Liam Mulligan novels are always a safe bet (and dangerous read). In The Dread Line, the former investigative reporter has become obsessed with a few cases: a cat that leaves its kills on his porch, a jewelry heist, and an animal torturer. But the biggest case — a case that is fighting for Mulligan’s attention — is that of the New England Patriots, who are carefully investigating a possible recruit to play it safe after their star player was accused of murder. It seems like a routine case, but it’s anything but. Filled to the brim with secrets and perfectly suited for new readers of the series, The Dread Line consists of big cases and small-town problems, just like Longmire.

Stripped Bare by Shannon Baker

Imagine Longmire, but set in Nebraska with a female version of Walt, and you’ll get Stripped Bare. Kate Fox was happily married to Grand County Sheriff Ted Conner; they lived together with their orphaned teenage niece Carly on a cattle ranch. But one night, Kate receives a call from Roxy at Bar J. Carly’s grandfather is dead and Ted has been shot… in Roxy’s bed. And now Carly’s missing. Like when Walt has to find his wife’s murderer in Longmire, Kate has to find the killer… and it’s personal.

1 thought on “5 Must-Read Novels for Fans of Longmire

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *