Close

Love The Classics? Try These New Stories!

Classics—we know them, we’ve read them. Basically, we’ve all heard of them. And that is why we put this list together. Fan of Classic A? Check out New Story B. We’ve got a hot list of fantastic new title / classic pairs primed for your perusal 😎

Check it out! 


The Bone Orchard by Sara A. Mueller

The Count of Monte Cristo is a much-lauded and time-honored adventure tale of r e v e n g e, and an adventure of vengeance is something author Sara A. Mueller delivers in spades with her novel, The Bone Orchard. 

When prisoner, survivor, necromancer, and mistress Charm is summoned to the deathbed of her conquering, now dying emperor, she is charged with determining the fate of the empire by discovering which of his terrible sons has killed him. To do so will deliver her from captivity, but betray the ghosts of her past that still whisper, leaving her with this choice: Justice, or revenge? 

The Bone Orchard is on sale 3/22/22!

The Order of the Pure Moon Reflected in Water by Zen Cho

The Legend of the Condor Heroes by Jin Yong is a classic tale of adventure, betrayal, and wuxia martial arts. Plots will be hatched, and secrets shared, and pacts broken. 

And for modern fans of the vibrancy of old school martial arts, we have to recommend The Order of the Pure Moon Reflected in Water by Zen Cho. It’s a wuxia story about found family, as a bandit walks into a coffeehouse, and it all goes downhill from there. 

The Order of the Pure Moon Reflected in Water is available now!

The Unspoken Name by A. K. Larkwood

This brilliant epic fantasy from A. K. Larkwood is perfect for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin’s celebrated A Wizard of Earthsea. Fans of Le Guin’s book will remember young wizard Sparrowhawk’s education and coming of age, as well as the devouring shadow that followed him. 

In The Unspoken Name, young orcish death priestess Csorwe’s is haunted by her betrothed: a nameless death god older than the world. But when she receives an unexpected offer of employment from a traveling wizard, she leaves death hanging at the alter* to launch into an incredible and world-spanning adventure of mistakes, love, action, and growth. 

The Unspoken Name is available in paperback now!

*ominous mountain shrine filled with many, many bones

What Moves the Dead by T. Kingfisher

Scary good and scary scary, that’s Edgar Allen Poe’s famed tale of isolation, madness, and the disintegration of the line that separates the known and concrete from everything else. You guessed it: The Fall of the House of Usher

In What Moves the Dead by T. Kingfisher, the old story is given a grippingly atmospheric and fungus-filled retelling. Yes, fungal. Poe’s work isn’t the only classic that pairs with this suspenseful new book. What Moves the Dead is also perfect for anyone who still can’t get this unforgettable Tumblr post out of their head. Read this if you cannot be killed in a way that matters. 

What Moves the Dead is available on 7/12/22!

The Chosen and the Beautiful by Nghi Vo

There’s a lot to love about F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby. The opulence. The pining. The emptiness of wild parties and vacuity of the lavish. 

Nghi Vo’s The Chosen and the Beautiful retells the story from the perspective of Jordan Baker, who navigates her identity as a queer Vietnamese adoptee and practitioner of magic. Enter demonic pacts, elemental mysteries, and dazzling illusion into the classic we all know as Vo transforms it into something wholly new and absolutely enchanting. 

The Chosen and the Beautiful is available in paperback now!

2 thoughts on “Love The Classics? Try These New Stories!

Comments are closed.