Close
Book of Night cover on an iPhone plus headphones over a dark city street background

Audio Excerpt: A Visitor at Rapture Bar & Lounge, from Book of Night

Book of Night, the mysterious and magical adult debut of the fantabulous (and #1 New York Times bestselling) Holly Black, has been on sale for a week now! And if you haven’t already sunken your fangs into this exciting book, A) Why not? It’s awesome! and B) Check out this audio excerpt from the first chapter! Also worth checking out: this Exclusive Interview with Holly Black. There’s so much Book of Night to celebrate!


 

Charlie Halls’s been on her best behavior: She’s keeping to herself, has a steady boyfriend, her gunshot wound is healing, and she even found a regular job! But all of that good-natured restraint is tested when a visitor from her past drops by Rapture Bar & Lounge. 


“A delicious, dark, adrenaline rush of a book. I’m already dying to see Charlie Hall’s next con.” – New York Times bestselling author, Alix E. Harrow

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of betrayals, secret societies, and a dissolute thief of shadows, in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern.

Charlie Hall has never found a lock she couldn’t pick, a book she couldn’t steal, or a bad decision she wouldn’t make.

She’s spent half her life working for gloamists, magicians who manipulate shadows to peer into locked rooms, strangle people in their beds, or worse. Gloamists guard their secrets greedily, creating an underground economy of grimoires. And to rob their fellow magicians, they need Charlie Hall.

Now, she’s trying to distance herself from past mistakes, but getting out isn’t easy. Bartending at a dive, she’s still entirely too close to the corrupt underbelly of the Berkshires. Not to mention that her sister Posey is desperate for magic, and that Charlie’s shadowless, and possibly soulless, boyfriend has been hiding things from her. When a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie descends into a maelstrom of murder and lies.

Determined to survive, she’s up against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, gloamists, and the people she loves best in the world—all trying to steal a secret that will give them vast and terrible power.


Order the Audiobook

Order the Hardback

amazon bn booksamillion indiebound

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *